Random

My Recommendations

I wanted to do something different for today’s post, after taking my brain for ideas, I decided I would share all the wonderful stuff that I have loved and hope you guys will love too. So to kick start this post, I want to share the films that I recommend!


Films

Patch Adams I was told to watch this by a colleague and I am so so so glad I did! Robin Williams plays the main character (Patch) and I personally feel that his character and the story reflected on Robins own life. It’s a beautiful film, it’s funny and so very emotional! Patch Adams is a man who inspires to help people, he wants to become a doctor but he has a quirky personality and not everybody enjoys his presence. Despite this, he pushes on through and comes out on top. I won’t give too much away so I’ll leave it there.

Blue Lagoon and Return To The Blue Lagoon I’ve loved these films since as long as I can remember! Blue Lagoon tells the story of two children who are on a boat that sinks, they become stranded on a island. Years past and they’ve learnt how to make it work. The Return To The Blue Lagoon follows on from the first film, except this time a woman on a ship with two young children (one is not her child) needs to “jump ship” as the saying goes due to a killer disease. The sail away and end up on the same island as the first film. The woman dies a few years later and the children then have to learn to fend for themselves. They grow up and of course fall in love, and then a ship finds the island one day. They then have to tackle the idea of leaving with the ship or staying on the island. I ABSOLUTELY love these films, there is a third one but it’s a lot more modern and I really didn’t take to it. 

La Bamba another childhood favourite of mine. I’m pretty sure Ritchie Valens (Lou Diamond Phillips) was my first crush! The film is based on a true story, feel free to look it up. It follows the life of Ritchie Valens who rose from poverty and into fame, a young lad who’s loving life and enjoys singing. Just like the true story, the film ends with you needing a box of tissues! Definitely a film you need to watch.

TV Shows

The Walking Dead a thrilling zombie apocalypse series that follows the lives of a group of survivors. You watch how the group learn to survive, who dies and who doesn’t. It leaves you on the edge of your seat every episode and it’s just so gripping, I LOVE IT!

The Vampire Diaries is probably my all time favourite series! There’s just so many twists and turns. The show is based around two vampire brothers who have been around for a long time, they move to a little town and meet a girl. Think it’s safe to say, the series doesn’t just stay between the two vampires and the girl, there’s plenty more characters, evil and good! 


Desperate Housewives is a recent favourite, but it’s definitely one of my favourites! I have been hooked since day one. The show follows a group of friends who live on a pretty quiet road, which turns out not to be so quiet. There’s murders, affairs and there’s so many storylines that are so realistic too. It shows marriage, divorces, family struggles, money struggles and jobs. I’d have to say my favourite character is a tie between Lynette, Susan and Gabby. 

Books 


The Girl On The Train (Paula Hawkins) I read the entire book in one day, in the space of 4 hours! I just couldn’t put it down. At first, I couldn’t get into it as it switches between main characters. One minute it’s telling the story from Anna’s point of view and the next it’s telling it from Rachel’s point of view. After a good few pages, I was hooked. The story is based on a woman who watches a couple in their home from the train everyday and dreams of their lives, until something happens to the couple. The woman on the train becomes connected to the case and the ending is a huge twist. It completely surprised me!

Deja Dead (Kathy Reichs) is just the first in the Temperance Brennan series and it was the book that got me hooked to the series. The TV Show ‘Bones’ is loosely based on these books. Temperance Brennan is a forensic anthropologist who helps to solve crimes, she always becomes too connected to the cases and can end up in danger. 

Me Before You (Jojo Moyes) I made the mistake in watching the film first so when it came to reading the book, I knew what was going to happen and was picturing the actors from the film whilst reading the book. However, the film was exactly the same as the book. They hadn’t changed much at all which is great! Me Before You is a heart wrenching, tear jerking, emotional story. I fell in love with Louisa and Will, and felt apart of the life they were living. The story is about Louisa who loses her job and needs to find a new one and fast. Camilla hire Louisa to care for her son Will who had a life changing accident two years ago. Will is a rude man who softens up when he realises Louisa is different from anyone he’s met. Louisa soon finds out the real reason she was hired on a 6 month contract and why the pay was so good, she’s then determined to change the outcome of her job. The book follows Louisa and Will through their rollercoaster friendship and I’m not ashamed to tell you, I cried.

Games

The Sims 4 I love building games, I’m not all that great at it but I love the whole idea of creating my own building, making it my own! I have every one of the game packs, expansion packs and stuff packs. I get all too excited when a new pack is announced. 

Harvest Moon okay okay, this ones a pretty old one. I own the game on PlayStation 2 and Wii but it hasn’t been released on the PlayStation 3 (the console I use). The graphics aren’t amazing but I love it. In the game, you play a farmer who has to make friends, find a wife/husband and look after their animals and land. 

Stardew Valley this is just like Harvest Moon, in fact it’s exactly like Harvest Moon except that it’s on the PC. I actually think this game is better than Harvest Moon. It may not be for everyone, but it’s definitely the type of game I like. 

Makeup 

The Body Shop Matte Liquid Lip in the shade 030 Crete Carnation I had been eyeing these up for a while, contemplating whether or not to give them a try. They’re £6.00 each and there’s plenty of shades to choose from. I picked 4 but Crete Carnation is my favourite. It’s the perfect nude shade but don’t apply too thickly as there’s usually a lot on the wand as it is. I tend to apply a few dabs in the middle of my lips and using my finger smudge it out. I find that by doing this, it leaves a more natural look. The Matte Liquid Lip collection are creamy, not tacky and so so soft on the lips. By far my favourite Matte Liquid Lip collection!

Revolution Brow Pomade in the shade Dark Brown I didn’t want to splurge on the Anastasia Brow Pomade so when I saw this was only £6.00, I couldn’t resist. I have mentioned this product before in my ‘Brows on Fleek’ post where I went in depth and shared photos so feel free to check that out. Anyways, I find that this is a exact dupe of Anastasia’s product and much more affordable too. It’s super easy to apply, doesn’t go on too thickly and my brush picks up a decent amount of product with just one swipe! A must try.


Blogs

Snippet of Sophie – Sophie Leung 

I found Sophie through her instagram ‘slimming.sophie’ and absolutely loved her account. I joined Slimming World 5 weeks ago which is around the same time I followed Sophie, who is also on Slimming World. She shares her recipes, her weigh ins and motivational transformation photos too. Sophie is such a lovely person, we often message each other to let each other know how we’re getting on with our diets and she is so so so supportive! Be sure to follow Sophie on her instagram, blog and twitter account. 

Charlene Mcelhinney – Charlene Mcelhinney 

I’ve been following Charlene for a while now, I found her via her ‘Beechat‘  account on Twitter where bloggers get together to discuss different topics and share their posts. Charlene posts about mental health, books and lifestyle. Also Charlene has just released her very own book, ‘Melancholy Mind‘ which is a series of poems about depression, mental health, love, medication, recovery. Charlene is such a down to earth girl, be sure to follow her on her instagram, blog and twitter account. 

Lauren Catherine – Lauren Prenter


Last Christmas, I was a secret santa to the lovely Lauren. After going through her blog, I realised we like the same stuff. The same to shows, make up obsessed, books, etc… It was like she was another version of me but living in Belfast. I love Lauren’s writing style, she posts about anything and everything. From her favourite to shows, to her go to makeup and even some fun fact posts! Lauren is a lovely girl who isn’t afraid to show some love to her fellow bloggers! Be sure to follow her on her instagram, blog and twitter account.



9 thoughts on “My Recommendations

  1. What a fabulous post! And thank you so much for the mention! I’ve read The Girl on the Train & I’m almost finished reading Me Before You so will definitely check out the other book in this post – you have great reading taste!

    Also that body shop matte lippy looks great! I’m loving matte lips ATM!

    Lots of love
    Charlene McElhinney
    @blogabtnothing1

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No need to thank me, you work hard! You deserve the shout out! Me Before You is such a lovely book, I really hope you like the ending… ooo I hope you like Deja Dead, Kathy Reichs is a splendid author!
      – Kirsty xx

      Like

  2. Love this style of post, Kirsty! Like a mega-favourites hehe! You and I definitely have a love of the Sims in common, it’s so much fun! I can waste hour after hour of my life on that game, the time just flies! I’m a huge fan of Charlene’s blog too, she’s the best! After seeing yours and Charlene’s discussion of Me Before You on the #beechat book group chat, I really want tor read it too!

    Abbey 😘 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you ☺️💖 and I love Sims, its so easy to waste a whole day playing it, haha… one minute it’ll be 1pm, the next it’s 6pm… and Yessss, you must give it a read! I would send you mine but my sister has now claimed it 😔xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

