beauty

Make Up Brush Cleaning Routine

Hellooo guys,

It’s been waaay too long since my last post! I’ve been so busy and every time I was free and able to write a blog post, I felt pretty sluggish and just wanted to chill. BUT I’m writing my new post now, in bed catching up on Youtube videos… I recently found this money saving life hack and couldn’t wait to share it with you guys! As you can probably tell (by the title of this post) the life hack is regarding my Make Up Brush Cleaning Routine. I’m not the type of girl to use makeup brushes daily, I just can’t handle the time it takes up… However, when I have plenty of time to get ready, I like to use my brushes and go all out! The only problem is that the brushes get so dirty so quickly… Nothing’s worse than a clogged up tacky make up brush… I wouldn’t pay the ridiculous amount of money for the cleansing lotions so I’d try to rinse them out with just water, but this wouldn’t make much difference… I’d still feel like they were full of dirt!

THEN A MIRACLE HAPPENED

I was watching some life hack videos on Youtube, when I came across this specific hack… Baby shampoo! For only £1.00 in Tesco’s, I couldn’t resist the urge to try out this new life hack that I had came across. I came home and gathered up my make up brushes, went to the bathroom and begun cleaning… OH MY GOD! It works amazingly. It’s super soft, fresh and has no harmful chemicals (meaning your face should be fine – unless your allergic…).

Step One:

Get all your dirty make up brushes and baby shampoo ready!

Step Two:

Pour a small blob of baby shampoo into the palm of your hand, place your brush into the shampoo and swirl the brush round and round your hand. You’ll notice the dirt coming away from your brush. Be sure to rinse your hand and brush each time you repeat this step. Use more shampoo if needed! Here I am cleaning my Real Techniques Blending Brush, used to blend my eyeshadows.

Step Three:

Repeat the procedure with your next brush. Here I am cleaning the Barry M Slanted Brush, I use it to fill in my eyebrows.

Step Four:

For bigger brushes, use more baby shampoo. The same process, swirl the brush round the palm of your hand. Here I’m cleaning my Real Techniques Buffing Brush, which I use for my foundation. You can see the foundation leaving my brush, I keep repeating the process until the soap is white or clear!

Step Five:

My last brush is my Real Techniques Powder Brush, which is used for applying my loose powder. As you can see, once the dirt had cleared, I was left with white soap (meaning the brush was clean). Make sure your rinse the brush off, getting rid of any left of soap!

Step Six:

IMG_6578

You can quite clearly see how clean my brushes are now they’ve been cleaned. I simply place them on a towel and let them dry, normally takes a few hours but I place them on a table next to my radiator and it normally dries a lot quicker!

I am so so so happy that I found this life hack, I will not be paying for a £15.00 cleaning lotion and will never have to worry about dirty brushes again! I would highly recommend the Tesco Loves Baby – Soft and Gentle Shampoo!

Basically Innocent xo

One thought on “Make Up Brush Cleaning Routine

Leave a Reply

